Research Guides: Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity Resources: Mental Health

Resources

Books can be found as ebooks via the links provided or as print items at the Library and Academic Resources Center. Stop by the Circulation Desk (front desk of the LARC) and we will be glad to help you locate or access these books.

University Student Mental Health by Laura Weiss Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781615371143

Publication Date: 2018-04-19

Student Mental Health: A Guide for Psychiatrists, Psychologists, and Leaders Serving in Higher Education is the result of a sustained and multidisciplinary collaboration of scholars, leaders, clinicians, and educators who are deeply committed to student health and well-being. The needs of young people today are quite different from those of even 5 years ago, and this book pays great attention to the specific issues encountered in caring for today's students who experience distress or develop significant mental health conditions.
The Virginia Tech Massacre by Aradhana Bela Sood (Editor); Robert Cohen (Editor)
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9780195392494

Publication Date: 2014-09-30

Sood, along with co-editor Dr. Robert Cohen, who has been involved in studying and reforming mental health policy for more than 40 years, and carefully selected expert contributors takereaders on a journey examining the mental health vulnerabilities of youth transitioning to adulthood, the limitations of existing warning tools for violence, and local, regional, and national gaps in mental health service delivery across the United States.This book offers examples of effective mental health services, policies, and strategies, and it provides concrete and pragmatic recommendations for how to begin overhauling the delivery of mental health services. The Virginia Tech Massacre is topical and timely, given the widespread interface between violence in the public arena and mental health issues.
Barriers to Learning by Debra S. Lean; Michael Fullan (Foreword by); Vincent A. Colucci
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781607096375

Publication Date: 2010-07-16

This book presents a unique classification and review of various mental health and learning issues. The authors link current education and child and youth mental health reforms to make the case for improving services to address barriers to learning.
Mental Health Issues and the University Student by Doris Iarovici
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781421412382

Publication Date: 2014-03-01

Young adults enter college with many challenges--complicated family dynamics, identity issues, and extreme pressure to succeed, among others. Students may also have mental health difficulties, ranging from adjustment disorders to mood disorders, and growing numbers of them are seeking help on campus. But these students are also resilient and eager to learn, stepping onto campus with hope for a new and better phase of life. Doris Iarovici, a psychiatrist at Duke University Counseling and Psychological Services, sees in college and university mental health services an opportunity for mental health professionals to bring about positive change with young people during a crucial period of their development.

Databases

ProQuest Psychology Journals
A database which indexes articles from a variety of publications concerning the subject of psychology. The database contains over 400 publications with all being available in full text. Coverage varies by publication, however many journals are covered as far back as the early 1990s. BR
PsychARTICLES
A definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal from 1894 to the present. BR
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology. BR
Sage Journals Premier
Access to leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. The interdisciplinary coverage spans subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more, supporting the needs of varied institutional programs. BR
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. BR

NOTE: Access to this database ends October 1, 2020.
Social Work Abstracts
Offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. The database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. BR

NOTE: Access to this database ends May 1, 2021.
SocIndex with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. BR

Selected Articles

Websites

Lindenwood Support

Student Counseling & Resource Center

The SCRC assists students in addressing psychological and adjustment issues (i.e. depression, anxiety and relationships) that can negatively impact academic performance, retention, graduation rates, and quality of life.

Web Resources

Organizations

Media

How Can We Support the Emotional Well-Being of Teachers?
Teachers emotionally support our kids -- but who's supporting our teachers? In this eye-opening talk, educator Sydney Jensen explores how teachers are at risk of "secondary trauma" -- the idea that they absorb the emotional weight of their students' experiences -- and shows how schools can get creative in supporting everyone's mental health and wellness.
How Teachers can Help Students Navigate Trauma
"To make a difference in the life of a child ... I made the commitment to tell my personal story," says educator Lisa Godwin. In this moving talk, she shares her experience of overcoming childhood trauma with the quiet, unwavering support of a teacher and school counselor -- and shows how educators can help students and families navigate hardships by sharing their own stories.
Why Students Should Have Mental Health Days
School can be rife with stress, anxiety, panic attacks and even burnout -- but there's often no formal policy for students who need to prioritize their well-being. Hailey Hardcastle explains why schools should offer mental health days and allow students time to practice emotional hygiene without stigma. Follow along to learn how she and a team of fellow teens transformed their advocacy into law.