Research Guides: Web Design Research Guide: Web Resources

Suggested Website

A List Apart
A List Apart is an online magazine that explores the design, development, and meaning of web content, with a special focus on web standards and best practices. Its content is protected by copyright shared jointly by the magazine and its writers, but code used in articles is freely available to all.
CodePen
CodePen is a social development environment. At its heart, it allows you to write code in the browser, and see the results of it as you build. A useful and liberating tool for developers of any skill, and particularly empowering for people learning to code. It focuses primarily on front-end languages like HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and pre-processing syntaxes that turn into those things.
CSS-Tricks
CSS-Tricks launched July 4th, 2007. Originally publishing primarily CCS-related content, CSS-Tricks has come to become a site about all things web design and development.
Hackr.io
Hackr.io makes learning to code easier and fun. Using Hackr.io, you can find the best online programming course/tutorial for the language you want to learn. All the tutorials are submitted and voted by the programming community.
JavaScript Kit
This is a use site for many commonly used scripts made freely available for use, as well as some references and tutorials.
World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)
The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) is an international community where Member organizations, a full-time staff, and the public work together to develop Web standards. Led by Web inventor and Director Tim Berners-Lee and CEO Jeffrey Jaffe, W3C's mission is to lead the Web to its full potential.

Image Sites

Unlike the databases available through the Library, image collections freely viewable on the web have not been licensed for educational use by Lindenwood faculty, staff, and students. Many online images are freely available without permission for non-commercial use, but many others require the owner's permission before you may use them. Before choosing to use an image in your work, it is important to read the usage rights for the image collection or individual image and, if necessary, seek the copyright owner's permission.

Saving images from the web

On a PC
- Right click on the image.
- Choose "Save to" from the dialogue box that appears.
- Choose "Save Picture As".
- A "Save Picture" box appears. In the "Save In" drop down menu choose the folder you wish to save to.
- You may change the filename, but do not change the type of file. ie: .jpg or .gif.
On a MAC
- Hold down the CTRL key and click on the image.
- Choose "Save image to the desk top."
- Open the folder you wish to save to and drag the image into it.

British Museum Online Collection Database
Over one million digital images of objects in the collection of the British Museum
Creative Commons
Find licensed works that you can share, mix, or reuse. Avoid the complex process of evaluating copyright status by using digital objects that are clearly marked with copyright licenses
Europeana
European cultural content including art and design images
Google Images - Advanced Search
Google Images Advanced Search allows you to limit your search by Usage Rights
Library and Archives Canada
Includes many digitized image collections by topics such as art and photography, aboriginal peoples, politics and government, sports, war and military , literature music etc
New York Art Resources Consortium
The New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC) consists of the research libraries of three leading art museums in New York City: The Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and The Museum of Modern Art
Pexels
Free stock photos and videos.
Picture This: Library of Congress Prints and Photos
Blog covering the vast holdings of the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress--more than 14.5 million photos, posters, cartoons, architectural designs, and historical and fine art prints.
Pixabay
Offers over 1.8 million free and royalty free stock images.
Unsplash
The site offers freely-usable images.