Latin American Studies: Language Dictionaries

Compiled by expert teams of Spanish and English lexicographers, the Oxford Spanish Dictionary provides the richest, most contemporary coverage of Spanish from around the world. The result of thorough research using sophisticated computer programs to search for new terminology and ensure that all the latest vocabulary from Latin American Spanish and American English is covered, this brand new edition covers over 24 varieties of Spanish as it is written and spoken throughout the Spanish-speaking world-from Spain to Mexico, from Peru to the River Plate. This groundbreaking edition of the Oxford Spanish Dictionary features 20,000 new entries (10,000 in each language), with the updating focused particularly on business, IT, and scientific terminology. Special entries on life and culture explain the differences between institutions, administrative systems, educational systems, and general life in the Spanish and English-speaking worlds, offering vital background to the language. Also, for a limited time only, all OSD's will be packaged with a free CD that contains cutting-edge text-to-speech software. This software enables users to type in any word, phrase, question, or date, and an audio version of the text will immediately pronounce it with appropriate inflection. No other Spanish dictionary offers this revolutionary software. With a newly designed user-friendly format, the dictionary is more accessible than ever. Each entry is in color making it easy for the reader to distinguish between and search for words. With half of the entries in English and half in Spanish (including the front matter), the Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the ideal reference for native speakers of either language. Handy, easy-to-use, and wide-ranging, this dictionary is also the essential tool for all students and teachers, as well as translators and language professionals. Jacket covers are also available in Spanish.

Travelers with intermediate-level knowledge of Spanish, and language students on intermediate and advanced levels will value this book as a key to getting past the slang barrier and grasping Spanish and its idioms as people actually speak the language. More than 4,000 words or colloquial expressions seldom found in standard bilingual dictionaries are listed alphabetically and defined. A phrase or short sentence is presented in Spanish to give readers a sense of the word or expression as it is used in various contexts, and is followed with an English translation. Because of the nature of the subject matter, books in this series necessarily contain expressions that some readers will find offensive.