Research Guides: Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity Resources: Neurodiversity

Resources

Books can be found as ebooks via the links provided or as print items at the Library and Academic Resources Center. Stop by the Circulation Desk (front desk of the LARC) or contact us and we will be glad to help you locate or access these books.

ADHD According to Zoe by Zoe Kessler; Patricia O. Quinn (Foreword by)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781608826612
Publication Date: 2013
Like many women with attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), journalist and popular blogger Zoë Kessler was diagnosed late in life--well into adulthood, in fact. But instead of seeing this label as a burden to bear, Kessler decided to use it to gain a better understanding of herself, and to connect with others through her writing. In this unique and engaging memoir, Kessler shares her own stories of living with ADHD in a way that is relatable, but never predictable. Inside, she describes how her impulsive behavior has affected her love life; how being disorganized once stood in the way of landing a job; and how inattentiveness has caused certain challenges in her relationships.
The Autistic Brain by Temple Grandin; Richard Panek
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0544227735
Publication Date: 2014
Weaving her own experience with remarkable new discoveries, Grandin introduces the advances in neuroimaging and genetic research that link brain science to behavior, even sharing her own brain scan to show which anomalies might explain common symptoms. Most excitingly, she argues that raising and educating kids on the autism spectrum must focus on their long-overlooked strengths to foster their unique contributions.
The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain by Brock L. Eide; Fernette F. Eide
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 0452297923
Publication Date: 2012
Did you know that many successful architects, lawyers, engineers--even bestselling novelists--had difficulties learning to read and write as children? In this groundbreaking book, Brock and Fernette Eide explain how 20% of people--individuals with dyslexia--share a unique learning style that can create advantages in a classroom, at a job, or at home.
NeuroTribes: The Legacy of Autism and the Future of Neurodiversity by Steve Silberman; Oliver Sacks (Foreword by)
Call Number: Unavailable through Lindenwood
ISBN: 0399185615
Publication Date: 2016
This New York Times-bestselling book upends conventional thinking about autism and suggests a broader model for acceptance, understanding, and full participation in society for people who think differently.
The Other Side of Normal: How Biology is Providing the Clues to Unlock the Secrets of Normal and Abnormal Behavior by Jordan W. Smoller
Call Number: QH457 .S66 2012
ISBN: 0061492205
Publication Date: 2013
In this enthralling work of popular science, respected Harvard psychiatrist Jordan Smoller addresses one of humankind's most enduring and perplexing questions: What does it mean to be "normal?"
Normal Sucks by Jonathan Mooney
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 9781250190161
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Confessional and often hilarious, in Normal Sucks a neuro-diverse writer, advocate, and father meditates on his life, offering the radical message that we should stop trying to fix people and start empowering them to succeed Jonathan Mooney blends anecdote, expertise, and memoir to present a new mode of thinking about how we live and learn--individually, uniquely, and with advantages and upshots to every type of brain and body.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
PsycARTICLES
A full-text periodical database with 45 APA (American Psychological Association) journals in psychology and related disciplines. List of journals available full-text.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Full text for 708 journals dating back to 1908, and includes more than 780 books and monographs, and full text for 9,333 conference papers. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and book reviews in sociology and related disciplines.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature.
EDUCATION FULL TEXT (H.W. WILSON)
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
SAGE JOURNALS PREMIER
International, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 400 scholarly and professional societies. Its interdisciplinary coverage spans subject areas including business; humanities; social sciences; science, technology, medicine; and many more.

Open Access Journals

Open Access Articles

"The Superior Half of Speaking": An Introduction
Autism, Neurodiversity and Equality Beyond the ‘Normal’
The “Journal of Ethics in Mental Health” is an international, peer-reviewed, web-based journal, available free on-line worldwide.
Charting Relations between Intersectionality Theory and the Neurodiversity Paradigm
Deconstructing Disability and Neurodiversity: Controversial Issues for Autism and Implications for Social Work
Journal of Progressive Human Services
open access journal
A Different Point of View: The Neurodiversity Approach to Autism and Work
Neurodiversity
Neurodiversity: the future of special education?
Neurodiversity and Inclusivity in the Workplace: Biopsychosocial Interventions for Promoting Competitive Advantage
Social Virtual Reality: Neurodivergence and Inclusivity in the Metaverse
Autism in Females: Understanding the Overlooked Diagnoses, Unique Challenges, and Recommendations
Neurodiversity and the Future of Autism
Understanding Differences in Neurotypical and Autism Spectrum Special Interests Through Internet Forums
“Indefensible, Illogical, and Unsupported”; Countering Deficit Mythologies about the Potential of Students with Learning Disabilities in Mathematics

Listening, Kindness, and Individuality: The Advice One Student With Asperger's Has for Us All
From the TED-Ed Blog
Neurodiversity: A Person, A Perspective, A Movement?
A posting by Debra Muzikar on The Art of Autism website
Understanding the Spectrum - A Comic Strip Explanation
From The Art of Autism website
“Sesame Street,” Julia and me: How a Muppet with autism helps heal childhood wounds
By Matthew Rozsa, for Salon Magazine. From the author: "I wish there had been a character like Julia on TV when I was a lonely kid with an autism diagnosis"
more...less...
From the article: At its best, encouraging diversity and representation isn't about bean counting, and it should rarely be about policing language or shaming perceived transgressors. It is instead about making sure the people who get left out of our popular culture finally feel like their stories are being told. After all, the movies and television shows and books and music that we consume are more than entertainment. Through the stories woven by these various texts, we as a society develop a better understand of who we are, what we dream and how we perceive the larger world around us. Consequently, when a group of people are either misrepresented or underrepresented (or both), they can wind up feeling caricatured, ostracized or invisible.
Our Neurodiverse World
An excerpt from Steve Silberman's book, NeuroTribes

The TEDTalk above is by Temple Grandin, author of several books, including The Autistic Brain: Helping Different Kinds of Minds Succeed (available in the Library's Main Collection, on the 2nd floor - Call Number: RC553.A88 G737 2015).