General Reference: Books & Media

If a book is unavailable in our catalog, and you're having no luck in the MOBIUS catalog either, you could try interlibrary loan.

Research Tip:

Remember, that interlibrary loan can take from one to three weeks to obtain the book. If you need the item for a project due the next day, you'd be better off searching for an article or another book we have available.

Need to renew an item? Check the status of a hold? Check when an item is due?

You can do all of these by logging in to your library account.

NOTE:

To login, enter your First and Last name and your Lindenwood University ID.

Search Options: The default search option is the Keyword Search. Other common options for searching the library catalog include Author and Title.

Searching by Keyword:

•    Searching by Keyword is much like searching in Google. 
•    Enter Keywords for your topic.
•    If you are having trouble searching, try locating Keywords by browsing a general reference source, such as an encyclopedia, or even Wikipedia.  It is best not to use Wikipedia as a source for your research project but it can be very helpful for understanding the best keywords to use when searching a specific topic.
•    Omit words, such as "the," "of," and "and." 

Searching by Author:

•    Searching by Author allows you to locate all books or resources written by the same author.
•    Enter the last name of the author first, followed from the author's first name. (ex. Tolkien, J.R.R.)
•    If you don't find anything, try only a last name or try expanding your search with MOBIUS.
•    The MOBIUS catalog consists of over 60 libraries throughout Missouri.

Searching by Title:

•    Searching by Title allows you to locate a specific book or resource.
•    Enter as much of the title as you know.
•    If you aren't able to locate the exact title, try entering less of the title, or expanding your search to the MOBIUS catalog. 

The Lindenwood Library offers much more than just books. Our Media Library offers a wide range of popular and documentary films, as well as a growing collection of video games.

Media Databases

In addition to our extensive Media Collection, Lindenwood Library also has access to a number of Media databases, from audiobooks to streaming films and artwork.

Our audiobooks collection (Overdrive) and streaming video database (Films on Demand) are available from the database page.

Other media databases, such as ArtSTOR for artwork, Naxos for classical music, and Oxford Art Online for artwork and articles on art are also located on the database page.

Databases are listed in alphabetical order or you can search for specific databases.