Readers' Advisory: Resources

 

• Readers' Advisory Services in the Public Library by Joyce Saricks - A comprehensive and practical guide

• Reader's Advisory Guide to Genre Fiction by Joyce Saricks - Focusing on genre fiction, identifies genres and their appearl factors

 

 

• Readers' Advisory Guide to Non-Fiction - Focuses on eight popular non-fiction genres

 

 

 

• A Few Good Books: Using  contemporary Readers' Advisory Strategies to Connect Readers with Books by Stephanie Maatta - covers Genres and meeting the needs of contemporary readers using web 2.0 tools and social media

 

 

• Research-Based Readers' Advisory by Jessica Moyer - Combines research and best practices

 

 

• The Booktalker's Bible: How to Talk About the books You love to Any Audience by Chapple Langemack - Lively book provides guidelines to creating a booktalking program

 

• The Reading Group Handbook by Rachel Jacobson - Bible of book discussion groups

 

 

• The Readers' Advisor's Companion by Kenneth Shaerer - 16 articles capitalizing on recent research and today's best RA tools

 

 

 

• The Responsive Public Library: How to Develop and Market a Winning Collection by Sharon Baker and Karen Wallace - With examples and statistics from more than 200 libraries of all sizes, the book gathers decades of pertinent research and a wealth of creative ideas and winning tactics for public libraries

 

• Read On...Historical Fiction by Brad Hooper - Hundreds of popular historical fiction titles are described and categorized. Includes read-a-like lists

 

 

 

• Read On...Horror Fiction by June Michelle Pulliam - Hundreds of popular horror fiction titles are described and categorized. Includes read-a-like lists

 

 

 

• Read On...Women's Fiction by Rebecca Vnuk - Hundreds of popular women's fiction titles are described and categorized. Includes read-a-like lists

 

 

 

• Read On...Life Stories by Rosalind Reisner - Hundreds of memoris are described and categorized. Includes read-a-like lists

​

 

• Read On...Fantasy Fiction by Neil Hollands - Hundreds of fantasy titles are described and categorized. Includes read-a-like lists

 

 

• Caught up in Crime by Gary Warren Neibuhr - Hundreds of books are arranged in three broad categories based on characters

 

 

• The Real Story: A Guide to Nonfiction Reading Interests by Sarah Statz Cords - Hundreds of non-fiction books are classified and described. Includes book lists

 

 

 

• Now Read This III by Nancy Pearl and Sarah Statz Cords - "The third in the 'Now Read This' series, Pearl & Cords's guie briefly describes and organizes approximately 500 of the most popular and current contemporary, mainstream fiction titles according to their primary appeal features-character, setting, language, and story." 

 

• The Readers' Advisory Guide to Street Literature by Vanessa Irvin Morris - Hundreds of popular street fiction titles are described and categorized.

 

 

 

• Book Lust and More Book Lust by Nancy Pearl - Annotated book lists that cover mood, occasion, and personality

 

 

• Book Crush for Kids and Teens by Nancy Pearl - From picture books to chapter books, YA fiction and nonfiction, Nancy Pearl has developed more thematic lists of books to enjoy.

 

 

• Fang-tastic Fiction by Patricia O'Brien Matthews - Describes and categorizes paranormal fiction

 

 

• Romance Authors: A Research Guide by Sarah E. Sheehan - Great starting placde for romance titles

 

 

• 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die by Peter Boxall - A trove of reviews covering a century of memorable writing

 

 

• 1001 Comics You Must Read Before You Die by Paul Gravett - This volume is the perfect introduction to a dynamic and globally popular medium, embracing every graphic genre worldwide to assess the very best works of sequential art, graphic literature, comics, and comic strips, past and present.

 

• Romance Fiction: A Guide to the Genre by Kristin Ramsdell - Jessica Moyer and Katie Stover assemble a gropu of specialists who have created a one-stop resource for all kinds of readers' advisory issues.

 

 

• The Readers’ Advisory Handbook by Jessica Moyer - Jessica Moyer and Kaite Stover assemble a group of specialists who have created a one-stop resource for all kinds of readers' advisory issues.

 

 

 

Readers' Corner - Morton Grove Public Library - Web site for book lovers and readers’ advisory.

 

Nonfiction that Reads Like Fiction, Morton Grove Public Library
http://www.webrary.org/rs/flbklists/nonfic2.html

 

Nonfiction Staff Reviews, Hennepin County (Minn.) Library

https://tinyurl.com/yxgesxd9

Novelist  - the complete readers' advisory solution, empowers librarians, engages readers and connects communities

Fiction Database - freely available online - Your Guide to Fiction Books. Search over 60,000 fiction book lists. Browse series, pseudonyms, synopses, and sub-genres.

Goodreads
Library Thing

RA for All - “Looking for your next good read?  RA for all is a blog to showcase how the readers’ advisors at your local public library can help.”
Shelfrenewal  - “Nobody puts backlist in a corner—readers'-advisory experts Karen Kleckner Keefe and Rebecca Vnuk bring attention to older titles by featuring "dusty books" and offering read-alikes for what’s hot on the holds list. “
Early World - “News for Collection Development and Readers Advisory Librarians”.  They are constantly updating a Diverse Titles spreadsheet of upcoming publications too.
Citizen Reader - Reading and Reviewing Non-Fiction
Reading the Past - News, views, and reviews of historical fiction

 

Teen Reads - This site highlights the hottest books for teens.
Teen Website from Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Great resources for teens, but teen booklists galore