Research Guides: Counseling and School Counseling : Finding Articles

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
Provided by ProQuest, Proquest Psychology Journals is a database which indexes articles from a variety of publications concerning the subject of psychology. The database contains over 400 publications with all being available in full text. Coverage varies by publication, however many journals are covered as far back as the early 1990s. Search options include author, abstract, article title, person, publication title, and subject.
PsychArticles This link opens in a new window
A definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
PsychTESTS This link opens in a new window
An authoritative source of structured information about tests relevant to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text™ provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Access to leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. The interdisciplinary coverage spans subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more, supporting the needs of varied institutional programs.

Peer Reviewed Journals Recommended by Your Department

Non-Peer Reviewed Journals Recommended by Your Department

Requesting Articles

Did you find an article that the Lindenwood Library did not have access to the full text? Then our Interlibrary Loan service is the answer. Using the request article link below, you will enter the citation information for the article and once it is available we will send it to you via the email you provide. This service usually takes about 2-3 business days, but for some harder to find articles it can take longer. Contact the Lindenwood Library if you have questions about this service.

Article Request

Why use Articles?

Articles are excellent sources of information. Here are some reasons why you might want to use articles:

Articles provide specific information about a topic.
Articles are published quicker than books, so they are good sources for current or popular topics.
Scholarly articles provide bibliographies or references that you can use to find other sources related to your topic.
Articles come in a variety of shapes and sizes. Some are popular and usually shorter and some are scholarly and are typically longer and more detailed.