Management: Finance and Policy

A free financials website that has detailed financial information for companies. You will need to create a free account in order to access the materials.

A free financials website that will allow you to see the competitors for a company by industry.

Search for company filings and forms from the Securities and Exchange Commission. This includes 10-K reports

You will need to sign up for a free account to access data for the U.S. companies, top 40 funds' holdings, 5 years financial history and more. It is a great site for company data and for comparisons charts.

The Wall Street Journal is a U.S. business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City.

1 month delay

Find background information and current news on individual countries and regions. Also included are major media connections. A unique feature is an audio link to each country’s national anthem. Site is provided by the British Broadcasting Corporation, BBC.

Data are mapped from the four World Bank Group databases (Doing Business, Enterprise Surveys, Privatization Database, and Private Investment in Infrastructure Projects) to cover over 190 economies across issues. This source addresses questions such as: How easy it is to do business?, How often firms are expected to bribe tax inspectors?, and more. Determined by indicator, economies are ranked and assigned one of three color codings indicating the high, middle, and lowest performing economies. Maps can be filtered by topics, regions and countries, and a toolbar link allows sharing of information with colleagues.

The official global chamber directory, with over 14,000 chambers representing more than 40 million member businesses and boards of trade worldwide. Keyword search by typing in country name, industry, or product. From the listed results, selections provide group’s description and activities, plus contact information and web page.

Web site of the Statistical Office of the European Communities, providing extensive statistical data and publications on EU countries. Browse or search and download predefined data and tables focused on: EU policy indicators; general and regional statistics; economy and finance; population and social conditions; industry, trade and services; agriculture and fisheries; external trade; transport; environment and energy; and, science and technology. Provides PDF access to statistical compendia, including the complete Eurostat Yearbook.

An abundance of information for U. S. exporters on trade and industry statistics, market data, and export and import data and procedures. There are links to ITA services and resources, such as Trade Stats Express (http://www.ita.doc.gov/competitiveness/index.asp), comprised of National Trade Data (U. S. merchandise exports, imports, and trade balances, annual and quarterly data, 1989-present) and State Export Data (state and regional merchandise exports, annual and quarterly data, 1999-present).

Data and metadata on labor statistics for over 200 countries or territories. Statistics are arranged by topic, country, or ILO publication. Country annual statistical data are available from 1999-2008, and include economically active population by industry and occupation, total employment by occupation, unemployment by economic activity, hours of work by economic activity, wages in manufacturing, and much more.

Browse by Country to locate country profiles for the 30 OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) member countries (USA, many EU countries, Japan, Mexico, etc.), which produce two-thirds of the world's goods and services and share principles of market economy. Each profile is subdivided by: Statistics, Publications & Documents, and Information by Topic. Some publications require a subscription or online purchase; however, substantial material is freely available from this site.

United Nations statistical databases (27 in all!) are accessible through a single entry point. These databases, tables and glossaries contain over 60 million data points and a wide range of themes, such as Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Tourism, Trade, and Millennium Development Goals indicators. Data may be downloaded in structured (XML) or value separated (colon, semicolon, or pipe) formats and/or printed.

Select the “Countries” tab to browse by region or select a country. Region and country information is subdivided by: Data & Statistics, Publications & Reports, News & Events, etc. Available from this World Bank site are development reports, global economics and trade data, country and regional information, current research projects, and information on international development loans and activities.

Published by the U. S. Central Intelligence Agency, this source contains country profiles with economic, social, and political information, arranged by country or location. Included are maps and cultural information for international business. A high-profile link from many resources guides. Updated bi-weekly.

Develop a customized chart of world inflation at the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland site. Choose a Source (compare up to four countries or regions) and Frequency (monthly, quarterly, or yearly). View the chart or download data, in Excel or Word format, for 1990-today.