The Media & Gaming Lab proudly boasts of our PS4, Xbox One, Oculus Rift and a PC vintage game collection as well as a board game collection. These collections are ever-expanding with new titles, such as Lord of the Rings Chess, Cards Against Humanity, What Do You Meme?, or Risk from our board game collection. New titles are added to our gaming collections every quarter.
Additionally, the Media & Gaming Lab has created a tabletop RPG collection (aka "pen and paper" role-playing games). This collection offers core rule books, sets of polyhedral dice, and grid playing mats. Several RPG systems are presently available, including Dungeons & Dragons, Traveler, Genesys, Adventures in Middle-Earth, and Basic Fantasy.
Students may record and edit projects in our Audiovisual Edit Rooms. Projects range from podcasts to voice-overs to film editing. The AV Edit Rooms are equipped with Adobe Creative Cloud, Final Cut Pro, Avid Media Composer, GarageBand, Audacity, and RedCine X. The rooms are reservable by using the EMS Software (24 hours in advance). There is a maximum of 4 hours per day a room can be reserved.
The Media & Gaming Lab provides light technical support and access to the LARC Theater Room 343. It is an 81 seat capacity, state-of-the-art facility for viewing and presenting. The Lindenwood Film Series is screened at this facility. The Theater is available for reservation by contacting Samantha Kennedy. All events must be scheduled a minimum of three weeks prior to the event and approved.
NOTE: During the current Covid-19 pandemic, capacity for the LARC Theater Room 343 will be reduced due to social distancing practices.
The information on this page is intended to inform the faculty, staff and students at Lindenwood University about copyright and to provide guidelines for using and reproducing copyrighted audio visual (AV) materials. The information should not be considered legal advice. It is the intent of the Media & Gaming Lab that all Media & Gaming Lab users adhere to the provisions of the United States Copyright Law (Title 17, United States Code, Sect. 101, et seq.).
Section 108 of the Law applies to reproduction by libraries and archives. It allows the Media & Gaming Lab to make up to 3 copies of a published work if the work is damaged, deteriorating, lost, stolen or in a format that is obsolete, and if a replacement cannot be obtained at a fair price. The Media & Gaming Lab can also make up to 3 copies of an unpublished work if the copy is solely for preservation or security and if the work is currently in our collection. Copies must not be made for any direct or indirect commercial advantage. Digital copies are not available to the public in that format outside of the library premises.
Copy Request Form
All Lindenwood faculty must complete this form when requesting a film copy.
Please allow up to one week for completion of film copies.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can the Media & Gaming Lab make a copy of a movie recording from my personal collection?
We will make a copy if you are using the material for educational purposes and only if you have written permission from the copyright holder.
Can the Media & Gaming Lab make a copy of a movie recording from the Lab's collection for my personal collection?
The Media & Gaming Lab does not copy movies or music for personal collections.
Can the Media & Gaming Lab make a copy of a DVD so there are more available for my students?
If we cannot purchase another DVD(s) at a fair price, we can make up to 3 copies for the Media & Gaming Lab collection.
Can I show a movie from the Media & Gaming Lab collection in my class?
According to the Lindenwood University Film Policy, you may show a movie in class IF:
• The movie is an “integral part of a class session”
• The viewing is supervised by a teacher in a classroom.
• The viewing is attended only by students enrolled in a registered class of an accredited nonprofit educational institution.
Public viewing requires a license from the copyright holder.