Skip to Main Content

DEI Reading Challenge: Read. Learn. Grow. Connect.

September Books: Activism, Advocacy, Antiracism, and Allyship: Stories About Social Change and Bravery

Dear Martin **Read by 2 Participants by Nic Stone
Call Number: Lindenwood Univ Young Adult PZ7.1.S7546 De 2017
ISBN: 9781101939499
Publication Date: 2017-10-17
Diversity Beyond Lip Service by La'Wana Harris
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 H367 2019
ISBN: 9781523098675
Publication Date: 2019-05-28
Witnessing Whiteness by Kristopher Norris
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9780190055813
Publication Date: 2020-08-03
How to Be an Antiracist **Read by 2 Participants by Ibram X. Kendi
Call Number: E184.A1 K344 2019
ISBN: 9780525509288
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
Call Number: E185.615 .C6335 2015
ISBN: 1925240703
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Antiracism by Alex Zamalin
Call Number: E184.A1 Z36 2019
ISBN: 9781479822638
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Stamped from the Beginning by Ibram X. Kendi
Call Number: E185.61 .K358 2016
ISBN: 9781568584638
Publication Date: 2016-04-12
The Broken Ladder by Keith Payne
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9780525429814
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai; Christina Lamb (As told to)
Call Number: LC2330 .Y69 2013
ISBN: 9780316322409
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
Born a Crime (Read by 3 participants) by Trevor Noah
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9780399588174
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson
Call Number: KF373.S743 A3 2015
ISBN: 9780812984965
Publication Date: 2015-08-18
Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence by Derald Wing Sue
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS.
ISBN: 9781118958728
Publication Date: 2015-01-20
Caste (Oprah's Book Club) by Isabel Wilkerson
Call Number: HT725.U6 W55 2020
ISBN: 9780593230251
Publication Date: 2020-08-04
Cast Away by Naomi Shihab Nye
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9780062907691
Publication Date: 2020-02-11
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Call Number: PZ7.1.T4567 Hat 2017
ISBN: 9780062498533
White Tears/Brown Scars by Ruby Hamad
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9781948226745
Publication Date: 2020-10-06
Dear Justyce by Nic Stone
Call Number: Pop Reading PZ7.1.S7546 Dc 2020
ISBN: 9781984829665
Publication Date: 2020-09-29
Witnessing Whiteness by Shelly Tochluk
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781607092575
Publication Date: 2010-01-16
White Fragility by Robin DiAngelo; Michael Eric Dyson (Foreword by)
Call Number: HT1521 .D486 2018
ISBN: 9780807047415
Publication Date: 2018-06-26

October Books: Celebrate the 30th Anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and 75 years of National Disability Employment Awareness Month (NDEAM) by reading a book featuring a character with a [dis]Ability.

Sitting Pretty by Rebekah Taussig
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9780062936790
Publication Date: 2020-08-25
About Us by Peter Catapano (Editor); Rosemarie Garland-Thomson (Editor)
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9781631495854
Publication Date: 2019-09-03
The Reason I Jump by Naoki Higashida; K. A. Yoshida (Translator); David Mitchell (Translator)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780812985153
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
Call Number: PS3604.O34 A77 2014
ISBN: 9781476746586
Publication Date: 2014-05-06
The Truth As Told by Mason Buttle by Leslie Connor
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ7.C7644 Tru 2018
ISBN: 9780062491435
Publication Date: 2018-01-23
Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan
Call Number: Popular Reading Collection PS3555.G292 M36 2017
ISBN: 9781476716732
Publication Date: 2017-10-03
Unsheltered by Barbara Kingsolver
Call Number: Popular Reading Collection PS3561.I496 U57 2018
ISBN: 9780062684561
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
Love and First Sight by Josh Sundquist
Call Number: Popular Reading Collection PZ7.1.S866 Lo 2017
ISBN: 9780316305358
Publication Date: 2017-01-03
Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly; Isabel Roxas (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0062414151
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
2018 Winner
My Dyslexia by Philip Schultz
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS.
ISBN: 9780393079647
Publication Date: 2011-09-06
Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper
Call Number: PZ7.D78325 Ou 2010
ISBN: 9781416971702
Publication Date: 2010-03-09
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee; Christian Coulson (Read by)
Call Number: PZ7.1.L42 Gen 2017
ISBN: 9780062743114
Publication Date: 2017-06-27
No Time Like the Future by Michael J. Fox
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS.
ISBN: 9781250265616
Publication Date: 2020-11-17

November - Celebrate National Native American Heritage Month by reading a book in any genre by a Native, First Nations, or Indigenous Author

Standing Bear Is a Person by Stephen Dando-Collins
Call Number: E99.P7 S833 2004
ISBN: 030681370X
Publication Date: 2004-11-23
A Mind Spread Out on the Ground by Alicia Elliott
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9781612198668
Publication Date: 2020-08-04
There There (*Read by 2 Participants) by Tommy Orange
Call Number: PS3615.R32 T48 2018
ISBN: 9780525520375
Publication Date: 2018-06-05
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian (Read by 2 Participants) by Sherman Alexie
Call Number: Lindenwood Univ Young Adult PZ7.A382 Ab 2007
ISBN: 9780316013680
Publication Date: 2007-09-12
The Plague of Doves by Louise Erdrich
Call Number: PS3555.R42 P55 2008
ISBN: 9780060515126
Publication Date: 2008-04-29
Native Religions of North America by Ake Hultkrantz
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 0881339857
Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Two Old Women by Velma Wallis
Call Number: E99.K84 W35 1994
ISBN: 0060975849
Publication Date: 1994-07-13
All the Real Indians Died Off by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz; Dina Whitaker; Laural Merlington (Narrated by)
Call Number: E76.8 .D85 2016
ISBN: 9781541425446
Publication Date: 2017-06-06
You Don't Have to Say You Love Me by Sherman Alexie
Call Number: PS3551.L35774 Z46 2017
ISBN: 9780316270755
Publication Date: 2017-06-13
Crazy Brave by Joy Harjo
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS.
ISBN: 9780393083897
Publication Date: 2012-07-09
Indian Killer by Sherman Alexie
Call Number: PS3551.L35774 I56 1996
ISBN: 087113652X
Publication Date: 1996-08-23
The Birchbark House by Louise Erdrich
Call Number: Lindenwood Univ Young Adult PZ7.E725 Bi 2002
ISBN: 9780786814541
Publication Date: 2002-06-03

December - Read a book featuring an LGBTQ+ character and/or written by an LGBTQ+ author

Bloom (Read by 2 Participants) by Kevin Panetta; Savanna Ganucheau (Illustrator)
Call Number: Popular Reading Collection PZ7.7.P22 Bl 2019
ISBN: 9781250196910
Publication Date: 2019-01-29
When We Rise by Cleve Jones
Call Number: HQ75.8.J66 A3 2016
ISBN: 9780316315432
Publication Date: 2016-11-29
Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9781250316776
Publication Date: 2019-05-14
Untamed (Read by 2 Participants) by Glennon Doyle
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS.
ISBN: 9781984801258
Publication Date: 2020-03-10
Transgender History, Second Edition by Susan Stryker
Call Number: HQ77.9 .S77 2017
ISBN: 9781580056892
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Good Boy by Jennifer Finney Boylan (Read by); Kelsey Navarro (Read by)
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS.
ISBN: 9781250263735
Publication Date: 2020-04-21
Less (Winner of the Pulitzer Prize) by Andrew Sean Greer
Call Number: PS3557.R3987 L47 2017
ISBN: 9780316316125
Publication Date: 2017-07-18
Reverie by Ryan La Sala
Call Number: Lindenwood Univ Popular Reading Collection PZ7.1.L14 Re 2020
ISBN: 9781492682660
Publication Date: 2019-12-03
The Invisible Life of Addie Larue by V. E. Schwab
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 9780765387561
Publication Date: 2020-10-06
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous (Read by 2 Participants) by Ocean Vuong
Call Number: PS3622.U96 O52 2019
ISBN: 9780525562023
Publication Date: 2019-06-04
You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 9781338503265
Publication Date: 2020-06-02
When Katie Met Cassidy by Camille Perri
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS.
ISBN: 9780735212817
Publication Date: 2018-06-19
The Funny Thing Is... by Ellen Degeneres
ISBN: 0743247612
Publication Date: 2003-10-28
Under the Rainbow by Celia Laskey
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9780525536161
Publication Date: 2020-03-03
Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS.
ISBN: 9780062820266
Publication Date: 2021-04-20
Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
Call Number: Young Adult Collection PZ7.R79613 Car 2015
ISBN: 9781250049551
Publication Date: 2015-10-06

January - Read a book written by or about a Refugee

Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali
Call Number: DJ292.H57 A3 2008
ISBN: 9780743289696
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
We Are Displaced by Malala Yousafzai
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS.
ISBN: 9780316523646
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 0142423629
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
We Crossed a Bridge and It Trembled by Wendy Pearlman
Call Number: DS98.6 .P43 2017
ISBN: 9780062654618
Publication Date: 2017-06-06
A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah
Call Number: DT516.828.B43 A3 2008
ISBN: 9780374531263
Publication Date: 2008-08-05
A Long Walk to Water (Read by 2 Participants) by Linda Sue Park; Ginger Knowlton
Call Number: Young Adult: PZ7.P221 Lo 2010
ISBN: 9780547251271
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
Tell Me How It Ends (Read by 2 Participants) by Valeria Luiselli
Call Number: JV6600 .L85 2017
ISBN: 9781566894951
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen
Call Number: PS3614.G97 S96 2015
ISBN: 9780802123459
Publication Date: 2015-04-07
The House in the Cerulean Sea by T. J. Klune
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9781250217288
Publication Date: 2020-03-17
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong
Call Number: PS3622.U96 O52 2019
ISBN: 9780525562023
Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Sea Prayer (Read by 2 Participants) by Khaled Hosseini
Call Number: PS3608.O832 S44 2018
ISBN: 9780525539094
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Illegal by Eoin Colfer; Andrew Donkin; Giovanni Rigano (Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6790.E97 C65 2018
ISBN: 9781492665823
Publication Date: 2018-08-07

February - Read a book written by an author of color (AOC) in honor of Black History Month

The Vanishing Half (Read by 4 participants) by Brit Bennett
Call Number: PS3602.E664 V36 2020
ISBN: 9780525536291
Publication Date: 2020-06-02
Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler
Call Number: PS3552.U827 P37 2000
ISBN: 0446675504
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi
Call Number: E184.A1 K344 2019
ISBN: 0525509283
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Black Like Me by John howard Griffin
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS.
ISBN: 9780792785026
Publication Date: 2012-06-10
Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid
Call Number: Lindenwood Univ Popular Reading Collection PS3618.E5363 S83 2019
ISBN: 9780525541905
Publication Date: 2019-12-31
Class Act by Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7.7.C734 Cl 2020
ISBN: 9780062885517
Publication Date: 2020-10-06
New Kid by Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7.7.C734 N4 2019
ISBN: 9780062691200
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
The Voting Booth by Brandy Colbert
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9781368053297
Publication Date: 2020-07-07
Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
Call Number: PS3607.Y37 H66 2017
ISBN: 9781101947135
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams
Call Number: Lindenwood Univ Popular Reading Collection PR6103.A7775 Q44 2019
ISBN: 9781501196010
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
She Came to Slay by Erica Armstrong Dunbar
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9781982139599
Publication Date: 2019-11-05
The Truths We Hold by Kamala Harris
Call Number: E901.1.H37 A3 2019
ISBN: 9780525560715
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
Transcendent Kingdom (Read by 2 Participants) by Yaa Gyasi
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 9780525658184
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Black Man in a White Coat by Damon Tweedy
Call Number: R154.T84 A3 2015
ISBN: 9781250044631
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler
Call Number: PS3552.U827 P37 2000
ISBN: 0446675504
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
American Spy by Lauren Wilkinson
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9780812998955
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
The Beauty in Breaking by Michele Harper
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 9780525537380
Publication Date: 2020-07-07
Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Call Number: PZ7.1.A24 Ch 2018
ISBN: 9781250170972
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi
Call Number: PZ7.1.A24 Chv 2019
ISBN: 9781250170996
Publication Date: 2019-12-03
Binti by Nnedi Okorafor; N.k. Jemisin (Introduction by)
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 9781250203427
Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Punching the Air by Ibi Zoboi; Yusef Salaam
Call Number: PZ7.1.Z64 Pun 2020
ISBN: 9780062996480
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Swing by Kwame Alexander; Mary Rand Hess
Call Number: PS3601.L35388 Sw 2018
ISBN: 9780310761914
Publication Date: 2018-10-02
Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes
Call Number: Lindenwood Univ Popular Reading Collection PZ7.R3476 Gho 2018
ISBN: 9780316262286
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
This Close to Okay by Leesa Cross-Smith
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9781538715376
Publication Date: 2021-02-02
The Chaos of Longing by K. Y. Robinson
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9781449492038
Publication Date: 2017-09-26

March - Celebrate Neurodiversity Week by Reading a book by or about someone that identifies as Neurodiverse

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick
Call Number: Lindenwood Univ Contemporary Collection PS3617.U535 S56 2010
ISBN: 9780374532284
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
The Autistic Brain by Temple Grandin; Andrea Gallo (Narrated by)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781470360559
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Thinking in Pictures by Temple Grandin
Call Number: Requestable through MOBIUS.
ISBN: 9780385477925
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
Flowers for Algernon (Read by 2 Participants) by Daniel Keyes
Call Number: PS3561.E769 F56 2004
ISBN: 0156030306
Publication Date: 1995-04-01
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine (Read by 3 Participants) by Gail Honeyman
Call Number: JPL 2nd Floor, Popular Reading Collection PR6108.O55 E43 2018
ISBN: 9780735220683
The Midnight Library by Matt Haig; Carey Mulligan (Read by)
Call Number: PR6108.A39 M53 2020
ISBN: 9780593340240
Publication Date: 2020-09-29
History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
Call Number: Lindenwood Univ Popular Reading Collection PZ7.1.S54 Hi 2017
ISBN: 9781616956929
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Funny, You Don't Look Autistic by Michael McCreary
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 9781773212579
Publication Date: 2019-03-12
Normal Sucks by Jonathan Mooney
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 9781250190161
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Rock Steady by Ellen Forney (Artist)
Call Number: RC516 .F67 2018
ISBN: 9781683961017
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Turtles All the Way Down (Read by 2 Participants) by John Green
Call Number: Popular Reading Collection PZ7.G8233 Tur 2017
ISBN: 9780525555360
Publication Date: 2017-10-10
Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
Call Number: Young Adult PZ7.1.G587 Gi 2016
ISBN: 9781101934715
Publication Date: 2016-08-30
Look Me in the Eye by John Elder Robison
Call Number: ebook
Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
Call Number: PN6727.B7568 H96 2019
ISBN: 9781451666175
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
Unthinkable by Helen Thomson (Read by)
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 9780062847959
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald
Call Number: Lindenwood Univ Popular Reading Collection PR9199.4.M322 W47 2020
ISBN: 9781982126766
Publication Date: 2020-01-28
The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
ISBN: 9781476729084
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
The Girl He Used to Know (Read by 2 Participants) by Tracey Garvis Graves
Call Number: Audiobook
ISBN: 9781250200358
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs
Call Number: PS3552.U745 Z477 2006
ISBN: 9780312422271
Publication Date: 2003-06-01

April - Read an #ownvoices book set in Mexico or Central America

American Dirt (Oprah's Book Club) by Jeanine Cummins
Call Number: PS3603.U663 A64 2020
ISBN: 9781250209764
Publication Date: 2020-01-21
Technically, not an "own voices" book but is set in Mexico.
The Distance Between Us by Reyna Grande
Call Number: Audiobook
ISBN: 9781451661781
Publication Date: 2013-03-12
Like Water for Chocolate (Read by 2 Participants) by Laura Esquivel
Call Number: PQ7298.15.S638 C6613 1992
ISBN: 0385420161
Publication Date: 1992-09-06
The Devil's Highway (Read by 2 Participants) by Luis Alberto Urrea
Call Number: JV6475 .U77 2004
ISBN: 0316746711
Publication Date: 2004-04-02
Of Women and Salt by Gabriela Garcia
Call Number: Audiobook
ISBN: 9781250776686
Publication Date: 2021-03-30
The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henríquez
Call Number: audiobook
ISBN: 9780345806406
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
Call Number: PS3553.I78 H6 1991
ISBN: 9780679734772
Faces in the Crowd by Valeria Luiselli; Christina MacSweeney (Translator)
Call Number: Audiobook
ISBN: 9781566893558
Publication Date: 2014-04-21