Educational Research: Background Research

Before selecting a topic or starting your research, make sure you understand your assignment. Consider:

• Have you been assigned a topic or can you pick your own?
• How many pages/words do you need to write? How long is your presentation?
• Do you need to include specific types of sources (e.g. scholarly journal, book, etc.)?
• When is the assignment due? How much time do you have to research?
• Is currency of information important?

When in doubt, consult with your instructor.

 Background research:

• Provides a good overview of the topic if you are unfamiliar with it.
• Helps identify important facts -- terminology, dates, events, history, organizations, etc.
• Can help refine your topic.
• Leads to bibliographies which provide additional sources of information.

Background information can be found in:

• textbooks
• dictionaries
• general encyclopedias
• subject-specific encyclopedias
• library databases!

Databases: A database is a library resource that allows access to verified, researched sources. The library pays for a license to use the database, which allows you to freely access vetted information that would have otherwise been locked behind a paywall.  

A database works a lot like a search engine, but instead of crawling the whole internet and gathering resources the database draws from a set of already published resources from reliable sources. Sources include academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. Databases may also include results from ebooks or multimedia sources (i.e. videos, podcasts, transcripts, etc.). You should check with your professor to confirm what types of sources they accept. Some professors prefer only peer-reviewed journal articles while others are willing to accept popular news articles, podcasts, or videos as sources. 

Below are great databases to get background information from.