Research Guides: Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity Resources: STEM

Resources

Books can be found as ebooks via the links provided or as print items at the Library and Academic Resources Center. Stop by the Circulation Desk (front desk of the LARC) or contact us and we will be glad to help you locate or access these books

Successful STEM Mentoring Initiatives for Underrepresented Students by Becky Wai-Ling Packard
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1620362961
Publication Date: 2015
Successful STEM Mentoring Initiatives for Underrepresented College Students is a step-by-step, research-based guide for higher education faculty and administrators who are charged with designing mentoring programs to recruit and retain students from underrepresented groups. Written by an acknowledged expert in the field of STEM mentoring, the book constitutes a virtual consultant that enables readers to diagnose the issues they face, identify priorities, and implement appropriate practices to achieve their goals.
Culturally Responsive Strategies for Reforming STEM Higher Education by Kelly M. Mack (Editor); Kate Winter (Editor); Melissa Soto (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781787434066
Publication Date: 2019-01-14
By the end of this decade, the U.S. economy will annually create hundreds of thousands of new jobs requiring a bachelor's degree in STEM fields, particularly computer science. This increasing need for computer scientists, coupled with an inconsistent agenda for managing dramatic shifts in the demographic landscape of higher education, compromises our competitiveness in scientific discovery and innovation. As higher education seeks to address this issue, the need for more culturally responsive approaches to undergraduate STEM teaching also increases.
The Future of Tech Is Female by Douglas M. Branson
Call Number: HD30.2 .B73 2018
ISBN: 9781479875177
Publication Date: 2018-07-10
An accessible and timely guide to increasing female presence and leadership in tech companies Tech giants like Apple and Google are among the fastest growing companies in the world, leading innovations in design and development. The industry continues to see rapid growth, employing millions of people: in the US it is at the epicenter of the American economy. So why is it that only 5% of senior executives in the tech industry are female? Underrepresentation of women on boards of directors, in the C-suite, and as senior managers remains pervasive in this industry. As tech companies are plagued with high-profile claims of harassment and discrimination, and salary discrepancies for comparable work, one asks what prevents women from reaching management roles, and, more importantly, what can be done to fix it?
Women of Color in STEM by Julia Ballenger; Barbara Polnick; Beverly J. Irby
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781681237060
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
A volume in Research on Women and Education Women of Color in STEM: Navigating the Workforce is an opportunity for making public the life stories of women of color who have persevered in STEM workplace settings. The authors used various critical theories to situate and make visible the lives of women of color in such disciplines and workplace contexts like mathematics, science, engineering, NASA, academia, government agencies, and others. They skillfully centered women and their experiences at the intersection of their identity dimensions of race, class, gender, and their respective discipline. While the disciplines and career contexts vary, the oppression, alienation, and social inequities were common realities for all.
English Learners in STEM Subjects by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education; Board on Children, Youth, and Families; Board on Science Education; Committee on Supporting English Learners in STEM Subjects; Amy Stephens (Editor); David Francis (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780309479080
Publication Date: 2019-01-28
The imperative that all students, including English learners (ELs), achieve high academic standards and have opportunities to participate in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) learning has become even more urgent and complex given shifts in science and mathematics standards. As a group, these students are underrepresented in STEM fields in college and in the workforce at a time when the demand for workers and professionals in STEM fields is unmet and increasing. However, English learners bring a wealth of resources to STEM learning, including knowledge and interest in STEM-related content that is born out of their experiences in their homes and communities, home languages, variation in discourse practices, and, in some cases, experiences with schooling in other countries.

Databases

Gender Studies (Gale Onefile)

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

PLOS ONE (Public Library of Science)

The world’s first multidisciplinary Open Access journal, PLOS ONE accepts scientifically rigorous research, regardless of novelty. PLOS ONE’s broad scope provides a platform to publish primary research, including interdisciplinary and replication studies as well as negative results. The journal’s publication criteria are based on high ethical standards and the rigor of the methodology and conclusions reported.

SCIFINDER

Before you can use SciFinder, you must Register for a user account.

SciFinder^® is your portal to chemistry and related information providing easy access to the most trusted collection of chemical substances, reactions and literature references in the world curated by expert scientists, not robots.

SCIENCE (GALE IN CONTEXT)

Database designed to support science studies by providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics and showcase scientific disciplines that relate to real-world issues.

SCIENCE REFERENCE CENTER

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

SPRINGER JOURNALS

The SpringerLink Online Journal collection includes more than 2.200 English-language journals. Through the Online Journal Archives Collection almost every journal is available online from Volume I, Issue I.

Selected Articles

Advancing Alternate Tools: Why Science Education Needs CRP and CRT
Dodo Seriki, V. (2018). Advancing Alternate Tools: Why Science Education Needs CRP and CRT. Cultural Studies Of Science Education, 13(1), 93-100.
Championing Institutional Goals: Academic Libraries Supporting Graduate Women in STEM
Palumbo, L. (2016). Championing Institutional Goals: Academic Libraries Supporting Graduate Women in STEM. Journal Of Academic Librarianship, 42(3), 192-199. doi:10.1016/j.acalib.2016.03.003
The Status of Women in STEM in Higher Education: A Review of the Literature 2007–2017
Heidi Blackburn (2017) The Status of Women in STEM in Higher Education: A Review of the Literature 2007–2017, Science & Technology Libraries, 36:3, 235-273, DOI: 10.1080/0194262X.2017.1371658
Advancing Women of Color in STEM: An Imperative for U.S. Global Competitiveness
Alfred, M. V., Ray, S. M., & Johnson, M. A. (2019). Advancing Women of Color in STEM: An Imperative for U.S. Global Competitiveness. Advances in Developing Human Resources, 21(1), 114–132.

WHY DIVERSITY IS CRITICAL FOR STEM INNOVATION
Written for IGNITE (A Global Fund for Women Project), by Roxane Divol, the GM of Symantec's Trust Services
Diversity in STEM: What It Is and Why It Matters
By Kenneth Gibbs Jr. on the Scientific American site
Diversity in the STEM workforce varies widely across jobs
A 2018 article by Cary Funk and Kim Parker from the Pew Research Center Social & Demographic Trends site
A New Report Uses Data To Drive Diversity In STEM Fields
A Forbes article, written by Amy Blankson
Addressing STEM Culture and Climate to Increase Diversity in STEM Disciplines
From Higher Education Today, a blog by the American Council on Education. Written by Kimberly A. Griffin, an associate professor at the University of Maryland
Building a Latino Wave in STEM The Hispanic community is under-represented in STEM majors and fields
From U.S. News & World Report
Inclusion of Diverse Groups in STEM Leads to Increased Creativity, Innovation
From Insight Into Diversity online